Roasted Beet and Goat Cheese Pizza

Earlier this week I read a wonderful article in The Atlantic online by Austin’s own Carol Ann Sayle, co-owner and co-founder of Boggy Creek Farms.  In  “Eat Shoots and Leaves: A Case for the Whole Vegetable”, Sayle argues that even conscious eaters among us waste a great deal food and money by discarding the greens that are attached to our CSA produce.  (The greens attached to grocery store produce are DOA before the veggies even arrive at the store, but that’s another matter.) In her article, Sayle suggested a few recipes for salads that utilize radish greens, beet greens, and more. My imagination was piqued. Inspired by Sayle’s column, I devised this recipe for roasted beet pizza that utilizes the whole veggie.  The sweet, earthy flavor of the beets is offset by salty goat cheese, pungent onions and garlic, and slightly bitter beet greens.  A whole wealth of flavors is captured in each bite!  Many thanks to Carol Ann for the inspiration.

A few notes about the preparation: I found this recipe to be a bit involved for a weeknight.  However, by roasting the beets and making the pizza dough the night before, I was able to put dinner on the table in less than 20 minutes! Since this recipe makes enough for 2 medium pies, I was able to put dinner on my friends Nathan and Amy‘s table, too!  I owe Amy big time for taking my picture each day as I embark on the 30×30 challenge.  If you’re not in the favor-returning market, just prepare one pizza.  The dough and all the toppings will keep in the fridge for a few days until you’re ready for pizza number two.

Roasted Beet and Goat Cheese Pizza (makes two medium pies, each pie serves 2-3 people)

The day before: prepare pizza dough and roast one beet.  My favorite pizza dough is NY Times writer Mark Bittman’s;  step by step instructions with photos & recipe here. To roast beet, preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Scrub beet clean and cut off the greens and root end. Save greens in the fridge for later and discard the straggly root. Drizzle the beet with olive oil and wrap the whole thing in aluminum foil.  Bake on a cookie sheet in preheated oven for 30 minutes, until beet is tender.  Place whole, roasted beet in an airtight container in the fridge for up to three days.

When you’re ready to make the pizza, preheat oven to 500 degrees. Remove pizza dough from fridge and allow to come to room temperature while you prepare the toppings:
1/2 yellow onion, sliced as thin as you can manage
1 beet, roasted according to instructions above and chopped into small pieces
4 oz. goat cheese
2 cloves garlic, minced
olive oil for drizzling
salt and pepper
1 bunch beet greens, stalks removed, sliced into thin ribbons
balsamic vinegar for drizzling

Once toppings are ready to go, prepare two cookie sheets or pizza pans with baking parchment.  Roll out pizza crusts, one at a time, on a floured surface until they are the correct size for your pans.  Mine ended up at 14 x 10 inches, but any size and shape will work.  Transfer to the prepared pans.

Brush each crust with a tablespoon of olive oil and top pizzas with sliced onions, minced garlic, chopped beets, salt and pepper.  Use your fingers to break goat cheese up, distributing the 4 oz. of cheese evenly between the two pizzas.  Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes.  At the 10 minute mark, pull the pizzas out and top with beet greens.  Bake an additional 3-4 minutes, until greens are bright green and tender.  Drizzle finished pizza with balsamic vinegar immediately before serving.

Click here for a printable version of this recipe.

28 responses to “Roasted Beet and Goat Cheese Pizza

  1. goddamn you kathryn! i’ll take photos of you in your outfits (and trust me, i’m an awesome photographer AND retoucher.) if you feed me! everything you make looks so tasty.

  2. Sorry I missed you the other night!

    I am going to have to give this a try. I am always wondering what to do with my greens. I made a pasta with them once….it was just OK. I am also going to give your pizza dough recipe a try. The past three or four times I have made my own dough, the results were less than stellar.

  3. Pingback: Meal Plan 11/10-11/16 | The Austin Gastronomist

  4. The pizza was absolutely delicious! You definitely turned me around on beets, Kathryn. 🙂

  5. it was frickin’ delicious. we ate the whole thing. (thanks).

  6. That is gorgeous! Too bad my family would have a massive fit if I made this. Maybe when I’m home alone sometime.

  7. Very nice and delicious!

  8. This looks really yummy and healthy at the same time! I love it!!

  9. well, good job on this pizza….looks fab! and love that you used the greens.

    and the photo was too cute…so I went ahead and featured this post on the FoodPress.com homepage today! 🙂

    have a great day!
    jane

  10. Wow.
    VERY excited to make this tommorow night!!!

  11. This has a slamming flavor profile. I’m a spice guy, so I am wondering how some crushed red pepper flavoring the olive oil being brushed on the dough might fare. I love the utilization of the greens. You may find “savory” in caramelizing the onions or “umame” with some meaty cremini or porcini mushrooms, too!

    Thank you for sharing this!

    • I think crushed red peppers in the oil would be awesome. Or infusing the oil with serrano could be cool. I think some spice could be utilized in the toppings, too. I tried honey, red wine vinegar, and balsamic vinegar drizzled on the pizza and all were great. However, I wish I would have thought to try some crushed red peppers with the honey!

  12. This recipe is a very new idea to me. You have many great ideas for the kitchen. I will be trying this one soon. Thanks!

  13. That looks delightful. I love using the greens attached to things like beets and radishes. I also need to try and make pizza one day.

    Your crust looks like it came out magnificent. And here I am being under the impression that you need a baking stone to have your crust turn out well. I need to try this now.

  14. This looks delicious! As someone who loves beets and cheese, you can never get too much good local produce. Love that you feature Amelia and team at Pure Luck Goat Cheese. Yum!

  15. Congratulations on making it to the front page of FoodPress! I’m so proud of you.

    One of these days, I’m going to get my life (or kitchen) together and start making all your vegetarian recipes. They all look so delicious.

    You’ve made me so hungry that I’m going to close my computer now and go buy some food. I’m blaming you if I gain 5 lbs today.

  16. Needles- Thanks for the crust kudos. I just use parchment paper and an old cookie sheet and it turns out great! Someday I’d like a baking stone and all that, but there are so many other nice things to buy in the meantime.

    Cheese- I love Pure Luck! They’ve got the best goat cheese in town!

    Kathy- I didn’t that you are vegetarian. Let’s go get dinner at Swad sometime. It’s my favorite Indian food in town and all veggie!

  17. I’m loving the new Food Press site. I’m finding more good food blogs, and I’m subscribing to yours right away. This pizza sounds WONderful.

  18. This pizza sounds ridiculously good. I once ordered a pizza with goat cheese and avocado and I found that the two creamy textures went strangely well together.

    Also, I just did a post about Boggy Creek Farm on my blog, so check it out: austineatcetera.wordpress.com

  19. This looks really yummy! I will try this at home

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  20. Love the look of this! Our beets are just coming up now so in a month or so, this will find it’s way to my friday night table.

  21. This is so bookmarked! It looks beyond delicious. I cannot wait to make it!

  22. Pingback: Meal Plan 11/17-11/24 | The Austin Gastronomist

  23. mmm. this is taking pizza to a new level..
    thanks

  24. YES! Let’s go to SWAD some time for dinner. The samosas are so yummy and the dosas are bigger than my arm. I love being able to order anything off their menu. Hooray veggie food or as they call it “vegi food.”

  25. Pingback: Meal Plan 12/29-1/4 | The Austin Gastronomist

  26. Pingback: Top 10 of 2010, Plus Printable Recipes! | The Austin Gastronomist

Leave a Reply

