The Very Hungry Caterpillar’s Cherry Pies

What it is about mini cherry pies that makes them so much tastier than the regular sized ones? Perhaps they are easier to eat. Or the tiny crust-to-cherry filling ratio is better. Maybe it’s the cute factor.

For whatever reason, these mini pies were one of the most popular dishes at my sister’s book-themed baby shower last month.  I made them using my standby pie crust recipe (seen here and here) and a jar of wild cherry preserves homemade by my aunt in Carlisle, Iowa.

The process for making mini pies is pretty simple as long as you have some biscuit cutters and a mini muffin tin. Here’s what I did:

  1. After rolling the pie crust to 1/4 inch thickness, I used a 2-5/8 inch biscuit cutter to cut the top and bottom crusts.
  2. Then I placed a bottom crust into each well of a mini-muffin tin, using my fingers to press the crust flat down into the tin.
  3. I put a 1/2 teaspoon of cherry preserves in each pie and brushed the edges of the bottom crusts with egg wash.
  4. I placed the top crusts on the filled pies, pinching the crust edges together with my fingers.
  5. Finally, I used the tip of a paring knife to cut four vent holes in the top of each finished pie before giving them a final brush with egg wash.
  6. I baked the pies for 35 minutes at 350, until the crust was golden brown.

A full recipe of double crust and 1 cup of cherry jam yielded 32 tiny pies.

This assembly method was effective, but next time I’d like to experiment to get a prettier finished product. Although the pies stayed sealed, I wasn’t happy with the fluting effect I got with my bare fingers and the muffin tin, plus the tops of the pies were lumpier than I wanted.

None of the guests at the baby shower complained about the fluting, so I’m not sweating the cosmetics here too much.  Still, I’m eager for the next time I have occasion to make these so that can figure out a better way to attach the top crust. Any advice, fellow pastry-obsessives?

4 responses to “The Very Hungry Caterpillar’s Cherry Pies

  1. I think the book theme is too adorable and so are the little pies. The only thing I can think of would be maybe a thinner crust in terms of aesthetics. If anything else comes to me, I’ll shoot you a note.

  2. We used to do the same thing as kids. Any leftover crust, stuffed with whatever jam we had lying around the house and baked. Usually ours were more like turnovers though. Thanks for the memory!

  3. These are almost too cute to eat. I need more patience with pie dough before I try them myself.

    • Tjsthings, thanks so much for the thinner crust idea, and for the compliment!

      Simone, we did that, too. As a result, I have a real need to pair jam and pie dough. It’s one of the most undersung food pairings, I think.

      Christi, thanks! I still get discouraged with pie dough. You are not alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

