Strawberry Lemonade

When life hands you strawberry preserves, make lemonade! At least, that was my solution to use up the six cups (!!) of homemade strawberry preserves I had on hand after a berry binge at the farmer’s market last week.

In this easy recipe, the sweet flavor of strawberry jam is brightened with fresh lemon juice and ice water. It’s perfect for sipping on a warm spring night! If you’re looking for a shortcut, I recommend substituting Confituras’ strawberry vanilla bean jam for homemade and using an electric juicer for the lemons, if you have one.

Strawberry Lemonade (makes about 2 quarts)
1/2 cup strawberry preserves
1/2 cup sugar
2 cups boiling water
1 cup lemon juice, from 8-10 small lemons
Lemon slices for garnishes
4-5 cups ice

Method: Juice lemons and strain juice for seeds. Set aside.

Next, puree strawberry preserves and sugar in a blender until mixture is completely combined and smooth. If you’re put off by strawberry seeds in your lemonade now is the time to strain the strawberry mixture through a fine mesh sieve. I skip this step since I like the rustic look of the lemonade with strawberry seeds.

Microwave two cups of water in a microwave-safe container for two minutes. Carefully pour sweetened strawberry preserves and hot water into a two-quart pitcher and stir until sugar is completely dissolved.

Next, fill the pitcher 2/3 of the way full of ice, add the strained lemon juice, and stir to mix the lemonade together. Pour lemonade into ice-filled glasses and garnish with a slice of lemon.

If you’re not planning to serve this drink immediately, it keeps beautifully in a pitcher in the fridge for several hours. You should stir it before serving since the the strawberry part of the lemonade will settle a bit.

15 responses to “Strawberry Lemonade

  1. ahhhh this look so wonderful! i might have to try making this. i’m so lazy when it comes to food/drink.

  2. That looks great. Do you can? I guess six cups isn’t all that much, but I love canning my preserves.

  3. Nicely done, Kathryn! Simple yet phenomenal…This will be a staple all summer in my new restaurant! I am also going to make the preserves from scratch, as well, like you did.

  4. that is perfect timing! i was about to start scouring the web for lemonade recipes with strawberry for my daughter’s lemonade stand.

  5. @kristin– this is perfect lazy lemonade! The strawberry jam is way easier than using a whole pint of fresh berries 🙂

    @rufus- I don’t can (yet) and I don’t think my freezer jam recipe had quite enough sugar to make it safe to can anyways. Someday I’m gonna get on the can bandwagon, though!

    @Steve thanks! Hope it scales well for your restaurant!

    @Aneelee Yeah!! I hope your daughter banks it big time at her lemonade stand 🙂

  6. I love strawberry lemonade…yeah Spring is here!

  7. This is one of my favorite summer drinks. So refreshing!

  8. That sounds like an amazing summer drink! Now all I want to do is hang out on my porch with a good book and this lemonade. 🙂

  9. I love a great strawberry lemonade recipe and this one looks absolutely delicious. Very nice recipe and thanks for sharing this.

  10. Beautiful photos, Kathryn. I had no idea you could use preserves in this way!

  11. hi lady! i tagged you w/ a creative blogger award. 😀 check it out here: http://kristinebazan.blogspot.com/2011/04/creative-blogger-award.html

  12. I love strawberry lemonade! I will have to try your recipe – it looks delicious!

    • Thank you, JKRU, Babygirl, Kristin and Robin for your nice words! I made the strawberry lemonade again tonight– this time with some nice vodka a friend gave me– and toasted you all 😀

  13. I can’t wait until strawberries are back at NYC farmer’s markets! Also, love the idea of adding a little vodka for a summer treat 🙂

  14. Pingback: coasting through to summer | menu – april 25 « SALT

Leave a Reply

